Bookmark and Share

Physics 214                                                                              Student name                                                                                                  

Marywood University                                                                                                                                                                 Spring, 2009

 

General Physics (2nd Semester)

 

 

Text: Principles of Physics by Kinetic Books This book is totally interactive.  You install it on your computer and illustrations and problems become animated and interactive.  I think you will find this to be a very pleasant experience in terms of learning physics.  (it also costs less than a traditional textbook!)  Also, Virtual Physics Labs also by Kinetic Books.  This is not a laboratory book.  It is a series of physics simulations.  Activities and homework assignments will come from this source.  Both books are available directly from the publisher: Order directly from www.kineticbooks.com

 

INSTRUCTOR:                      ______________

  Cell phone (preferred):         ______-________

  email:                                   ________________@____________.______

 

 

 

Attendance Policy:   

 

Please note that attendance is very important to the success of a student particularly in a science or math course.  As a result, the following policy will be in effect regarding attendance in this course.  Each student is permitted one unexcused absence with no penalty.  (That should cover the unforeseen emergencies that could come up without warning.)  After that one unexcused absence, however, each hour of additional unexcused absence will result in a loss on 2 percentage points from the course average.  Please note that if a student misses class on Wednesday night, that counts as two hours of class.  If a student misses a Monday night, that counts as one hour of class, one hour of lab and no laboratory work will be made up for labs missed during unexcused absences.


 

 


Note:       A weighted average system will be used to calculate final grades for this course.  Final grade will be determined using the following weightings:


TEST AVERAGE:                                       60%

FINAL EXAM:                                             15%

CLASSWORK/HOMEWORK:                  25%

 

 

 

Tests will occur after each of the following chapter sequences:

Chapter 16 (Wave Motion)

Chapter 17 (Sound)

Chapter 18 (Waves Superposition and interference)

Chapter 23 (Electric Charge and Coulombs Law)

Chapter 24 (Electric Fields)

Test on or about January 28, 2009

Chapter 25 (Electric Potential)

Chapter 26 (Electric Flux and Gauss’s Law)

Chapter 27 (Electric Current and Residence)

Chapter 28 (Capcitors)

Chapter 29 (Direct Current Circuits)

Test on or about February 18, 2009

Chapter 30 (Magnetic Fields)

Chapter 31 (Electric Currents and Magnetic Fields)

Chapter 32 (Electromagnetic induction)

Chapter 33 (Alternating Current Circuits)

Chapter 34 (Electromagnetic Raidation)

Test on or about March 18, 2009

Chapter 35 (Reflection)

Chapter 36 (Refraction)

Chapter 37 (Lenses)

Chapter 38 (Interference)

Chapter 39 (Defraction)

Test on or about April 15, 2009

Final Exam on or about April 29, 2009

 

Responsibility:

 

You are responsible for the material listed in the table of contents for each chapter.   You will also know that every subject was covered in class. If any of the table of contents material will not be covered I will let you know while covering the other related material.


Projected Class Calendar

PHYS 214

Spring, 2009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Class

Date (and day)

Class will consist of...

1

1/12/09 (Mon)

Chapter 16 (Wave Motion)

2

1/14/09 (Wed)

Chapter 17 (Sound)

3

1/19/09 (Mon)

Chapter 18 (Waves Superposition and interference)

4

1/21/09 (Wed)

Chapter 23 (Electric Charge and Coulombs Law)

5

1/26/09 (Mon)

Chapter 24 (Electric Fields)

6

1/28/09 (Wed)

TEST:  Chapters 16, 17, 18, 23, & 24

7

2/2/09 (Mon)

Chapter 25 (Electric Potential)

8

2/4/09 (Wed)

Chapter 26 (Electric Flux and Gauss’s Law)

9

2/9/09 (Mon)

Chapter 27 (Electric Current and Residence)

10

2/11/09 (Wed)

Chapter 28 (Capcitors)

11

2/16/09 (Mon)

Chapter 29 (Direct Current Circuits)

12

2/18/09 (Wed)

TEST:  Chapters 25, 26, 27, 28, & 29

13

2/23/09 (Mon)

Chapter 30 (Magnetic Fields)

14

2/25/09 (Wed)

Chapter 31 (Electric Currents and Magnetic Fields)

 

 

No Class on Mon, 3/2, or Wed, 3/4. (Spring Break)

15

3/9/09 (Mon)

Chapter 32 (Electromagnetic induction)

16

3/11/09 (Wed)

Chapter 33 (Alternating Current Circuits)

17

3/16/09 (Mon)

Chapter 34 (Electromagnetic Radiation)

19

3/18/09 (Wed)

TEST:  Chapters 30, 31, 32, 33, & 34

20

3/23/09 (Mon)

Chapter 35 (Reflection)

21

3/25/09 (Wed)

Chapter 36 (Refraction)

22

3/30/09 (Mon)

Chapter 37 (Lenses)

23

4/1/09 (Wed)

Chapter 38 (Interference)

24

4/6/09 (Wed)

Chapter 39 (Defraction)

 

 

No Class on Weds, 4/8 (Holy Wednesday) or 4/13 (Easter Monday)

25

4/15/09 (Wed)

TEST:  Chapters 35, 36, 37, 38, & 39

26

4/20/09 (Mon)

Question and Review for Course

27

4/22/09 (Wed)

Question and Review for Course

 

 

No Class on Mon, 4/27. (Study/Snow Day)

 

4/29/09 (Wed)

Proposed Date for Cumulative Final Exam